Register Soon

About Us

Home»About Us

Sarah Headshot

Sarah Morehead, President

A life-long evangelical Southern Baptist, Sarah spent years as a dutiful wife and mother before finding the courage to leave an abusive marriage. She ultimately let go of her faith, becoming a passionate advocate for growing the secular community by developing resources for practical support as people reconsidering the role of religion in their life. In addition to her role as President of the Reason Rally Coalition, she serves as the Executive Director of Recovering from Religion and President of Apostacon.





David Tamayo, Vice President

Founder and president of Hispanic American Freethinkers, the first and only national Latino Secular organization of its kind. He is the organizer of HAFree High School Outreach Mentorship Program to Latino and immigrant students teaching Critical Thinking Skills and Career Planning. He is currently the Vice President of Technology for large aerospace engineering company based in Washington D.C.





Shanon Nebo, Treasurer

Co-Owner and President at Be Secular, a socially conscious company that strives to strengthen the secular community and purpose by connecting progressive atheist and theist people, groups, and non-profits as well as helping these entities with fundraising and visibility. In addition to her activism she is a wife, mother, gamer, and baker.






LiddellpicLyz Lidell, Secretary 

Director of Campus Organizing at the Secular Student Alliance. She leads development of new resources and helps build relationships with other organizations to promote acceptance of secular students.

Lyz was the volunteer editor-in-chief of the SSA’s eMpirical from 2006-2009, joining the SSA staff full-time in 2008. She volunteers with her local off-campus organization, the Humanist Community of Central Ohio, and serves in an advisory role to several national secular organizations.





Teresa Macbain, Communications Committee Chair 

A former Methodist pastor, she was the first female member of the Clergy Project to publicly ‘come out’ as a nonbeliever. During the 2012 American Atheist Convention, she bravely shared her true identity—a pastor who no longer believes—with the large crowd. News of the event spread, bringing worldwide attention to the Clergy Project. The following year, she was named “Atheist of the Year” for her tireless efforts to help pastors and others dealing with their changing beliefs. She is the Director of the Hotline Project and writing her first book.





Ben Hibben, Webmaster 

A web developer and resident of Louisville, KY, he is proud member of Grand Unified and the LVL1 hackerspace and has served as Sr. Staff at Camp Quest Ohio.








Debbie Allen, Hospitality Committee Chair 

The founder and director of the San Diego Coalition of Reason. Debbie was elected to the board of directors of the American Humanist Association in 2012, and to the board of the Humanist Society in 2014.  Always focused on engaging nonbelievers and growing the secular community, Debbie has organized numerous lectures, rallies, and social events. She has worked in coordination with several national organizations and with movement leaders.







David Silverman, Revenue Committee Chair

President of American Atheists, he was the creator and Executive Producer of the 2012. He became an activist in 1996, but  knew was an atheist since he was 6-years-old. He has appeared on most major news programs including The O’Reilly Factor, The Real Story with Gretchen Carlson, Ronan Farrow Daily, Scarborough Country, CNN’s Paula Zahn NOW, Nick News, Hannity and Colmes, FOX and Friends, NPR’s All Things Considered, and many more.






Reason Rally Board Pic

Reason Rally Board of Directors

Top Row (left to right): Ron Lindsay, Mandisa Thomas, David Silverman, Sarah Morehead, Kelly Damerow

Bottom Row (left to right): Sarah H., Margaret Downey, Debbie Allen, Roy Speckhardt, August Brunsman

Not Pictured: Annie Laurie Gaylor, Dan Barker, Todd Stiefel, and David Tamayo